Home Education Health Economy Tourism About Lesotho  Search

The Honourable Deputy Prime Minister

Honourable Mothetjoa Metsing


The Honourable Deputy Prime Minister, Mr. Mothetjoa Metsing is the Deputy Prime Minister and a Member of Parliament for Mahobong Constituency No. 9 for 9th Parliament since March 2015. He is the Leader of the Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD) and also Leader of the Parliament House (National Assembly).


Honourable Mothetjoa Metsing holds Masters in Business Administration (Business School of Netherlands - 2007), Diploma in Industrial Relations, Diploma in Journalism and Diploma in Business Studies.

He completed his high school education (COSC) at Likhakeng High School and primary education at Holy Trinity, both in the Leribe district.

Political Career

Honourable Deputy Prime Minister is the Leader of the LCD, the position he occupied since 2012. He led LCD’s groundbreaking campaign only a month and a half as a Leader in 2012. He won a Constituency seat for Mahobong four times consecutively in 2002, 2007, 2012 and 2015. He is the Leader of the Parliament (Leader of the House; National Assembly) 2012-2015.

In 2002, he was elected Deputy Secretary General of the LCD Youth League and Secretary General (LCD Youth League) and Secretary General of the LCD National Executive Committee (NEC) in 2009.

In 2003, he was appointed the Assistant Minister of Trade, Industry, Cooperatives and Marketing; Assistant Minister of Justice, Human Rights and Rehabilitation in 2004; Minister of Communication, Science and Technology in 2007 and Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Local Government, Chieftainship and Parliamentary Affairs in 2012 to February 2015.

Career outside Politics

Honourable Mothetjoa Metsing served as Mining Administration Clerk in the Vaal Reefs Mine in South Africa in 1989.

Personal Life

Honourable Metsing was born at Ha-Lobiane, Mahobong in Leribe. He is married and is blessed with three children.

> The Senate
> The National Assembly
> Lesotho Parliament
> Cabinet
> Government Ministries
> Appeal Court
> High Court
> Magistrate Courts
> The Office of the King
> The Office of the Prime Minister
> The Auditor General
> Embassy
> Tender Notices
> Press Statements
> Official Reports
> Official Speeches
> Legal Documents
> National Policies
> Public Holidays
> Government Directory
> National Anthem
Ministry of Communications P.O. Box 36 | Maseru - Lesotho Tel: (+266) 22 323 864
Feedback Related Links Sitemap