Home Education Health Economy Tourism About Lesotho  Search



Twenty-two Cabinet Ministers and five Deputy Ministers of the third Coalition government of Lesotho were sworn-in at the ceremony administered by the Chief Justice Nthomeng Majara and Justice Ts'eliso Monaphathi at the Royal Palace in Maseru on Friday.

The ceremony that took almost three hours was witnessed by among others His Majesty King Letsie III, Prime Minister, Dr Motsoahae Thabane and his Spouse, Heads of Diplomatic Missions in Lesotho, Members of Parliament and other Senior Government Officials.

The ceremony saw Mr. Monyane Moleleki swearing-in as the Deputy Prime Minister and will also be responsible for Parliamentary Affairs. Mr. Moleleki was followed by Chief Thesele Maseribane who is the Minister of Public Service and Mrs. keketso Rants'o sworn-in as the Minister of Labour and Employment.

Mr. Motlohi Maliehe has been appointed as the Minister of Forestry, Range and Soil Conservation, Mr. Joang Molapo sworn-in as the Minister of Communications, Science and Technology, Minister of Gender, Youth and Sports is Mr. Kabelo Mafura while Mr. Samonyane Ntsekele has been appointed as the Minister of Water.

Mr. Mokhele Moletsane has been appointed as the Minister of Education and Training while Dr Moeketsi Majoro is the Minister of Finance. Mr. Temeki Ts'olo is the Minister in the Prime Minister's Office. Mr. Tefo Mapesela is the Minister of Trade and Industry, Mrs. 'Matebatso Doti is the Minister of Social Development and Mr. Chalane Phori is the Minister of Small Business, Cooperatives and Marketing, 

Mr. Mahala Molapo is the Minister of Agriculture and Food Security. He is being deputised by Dr. Nthabiseng Makoae.

Dr Mahali Phamotse is the Minister of Justice, Human Rights and Correctional Service, Mr. Lesego Makgothi is the Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Relation and his deputy is Mr. Halebonoe Sets'abi. 

Mr. Habofanoe Lehana is the Minister of Local Government and Chieftainship Affairs, while Mr. Keketso Sello is the Minister of Mining, Mr. Lehlohonolo Moramotse is the Minister of Public Works and Transport while his deputy is Mr. Ts'ehlo Ramarou.

Mr. Sentje Lebona is the Minister of Defence and National Security, Mr. Nyapane Kaya is the Minister of Health while his deputy is Mrs. 'Manthabiseng Phohleli. 

Mr. Tlohelang Aumane is the Minister of Development Planning while Mr. Machesetsa Mofomobe was sworn-in as the Deputy Minister of Home Affairs.

This Cabinet is dominated by men as there are only five women out of a total of 27 new appointments. 

Source: LENA 23/06/2017

> The Senate
> The National Assembly
> Cabinet
> Government Ministries
> Appeal Court
> High Court
> Magistrate Courts
> The Office of the King
> The Office of the Prime Minister
> The Auditor General
> Embassy
> Tender Notices
> Press Statements
> Official Reports
> Official Speeches
> Legal Documents
> National Policies
> Public Holidays
> Government Directory
> National Anthem
Ministry of Communications P.O. Box 36 Maseru - Lesotho
Tel: (+266) 22 323 864 Webmaster (for technical comments) Editor (for editorial comments)