Home Education Health Economy Tourism About Lesotho  Search



The swearing in of new 117 Members of Parliament that was administered by the Clerk of the National Assembly Adv. Lebohang Maema went on smoothly in the National Assembly during a special sitting of the 10th Parliament of Lesotho on Monday.

The MPs dressed neatly, were told by the newly elected Speaker of the National Assembly, Mr. Sephiri Motanyane that they are now jockeys lined up to work towards the development of Basotho.

He said they are from today called 'Honourables', a tittle which he pointed out that goes with privilege and the passion to ensure that they change Lesotho to make it a better place.

Before and after taking the Oath of Allegiance in the Lower House, the MPs took their turns to greet each other by way of shaking hands as well as giving each other hugs.

Among those who hugged and shook hands were the leaders of the political parties including that of the Democratic Congress, Dr Pakalitha Mosisili who is currently the care-taker Prime Minister (PM) of Lesotho following the election results of June 03. Dr Mosisili has already resigned and has been ordered by His Majesty III to hold the office until the inauguration of the new PM.

When he moved from his seat to greet the other leaders particularly those who have already partnered to form the third coalition government of Lesotho, most people who occupied the public gallery were impressed by the act saying they waited with eagerness to see how the leaders would treat each other.

They commended the leaders for the hospitality that they demonstrated on each other and agreed with the saying that there is no lasting enemy in politics.

In the House, Mr. Selibe Mochoboroane still occupied the cross bench like he did when he crossed the floor during the 9th Parliament of Lesotho just before the motion of no-confidence was passed against the government led by Dr Mosisili by the then opposition parties.

The motion was read by Mr. Teboho Lehloenya, of the Alliance of Democrats (AD) who was today elected as the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly. His name was proposed by Mrs. 'Manthabiseng Phohleli also of AD and seconded by Mr. Joang Molapo of BNP. 

The swearing in was administered by Heads of Diplomatic Missions in Lesotho, Non Governmental Organisations and the political party supporters who could be identified with their party attires.

At the end of the process, the Speaker announced that the National Assembly will adjourn sine die.


Source: LENA 12/06/2017

> The Senate
> The National Assembly
> Cabinet
> Government Ministries
> Appeal Court
> High Court
> Magistrate Courts
> The Office of the King
> The Office of the Prime Minister
> The Auditor General
> Embassy
> Tender Notices
> Press Statements
> Official Reports
> Official Speeches
> Legal Documents
> National Policies
> Public Holidays
> Government Directory
> National Anthem
Ministry of Communications P.O. Box 36 Maseru - Lesotho
Tel: (+266) 22 323 864 Webmaster (for technical comments) Editor (for editorial comments)