Honourable Tsukutlane Au

Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable Minister of Energy and Meteorology

Honourable Tsukutlane Au

Honourable Tsukutlane Au is the Minister of Energy and Meteorology and Member of the Upper House (Senate). He was appointed to the position of the Minister of Energy and Meteorology in February 2019.

He has served as Minister of Home Affairs since July 2017 to February 2019 following the June 2017 snap election and his appointment as a Senator.

Honourable Au holds Master Degree in Public Policy and Administration from the Institute of Social Studies (Netherlands) from 1997 to 1998. He graduated from the National University of Lesotho (NUL) with B.A. Public Administration and Political Science in 1994.

He completed his primary, secondary and high school education at Likolobeng Primary, Manonyane Secondary and Christ the King High School in 1984, 1987 and 1989 successively.

In 2017, Honourable Au joint the newly formed Alliance of Democrats (AD) political party. Following the June 2017 snap elections, he was appointed to the Senate and Minister of Home Affairs. He has also served as Minister of Public Service and Member of Parliament from 2015 to 2017 representing the Democratic Congress (DC) political Party in the Thaba-Putsoa Constituency. In 2012, he was elected to the National Assembly to represent the Democratic Congress (DC) Party for the constituency of Makhaleng.

Besides his political career, he has served in various Government ministries and departments as Assistant Administration Officer, Assistant Human Resources Officer and Human Resources Officer all in the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security while in the Ministry of Public Service he was promoted to the position of Director Human Resources, the position he held from 2003 to 2007 when he was appointed as Principal Secretary in the same Ministry. He held the position of the Principal Secretary until 2012 when he resigned to join politics.

Honourable Au is married and blessed with four children. He is a member of the Catholic Church.