Cabinet Appointments

1.  The Right Honourable Dr Motsoahae Thomas Thabane
The Prime Minister and Minister of Defence and National Security



2. Hon. Monyane

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister Responsible for Parliamentary Affairs



3. Hon. Thesele Maseribane

Minister of Communications, Science and Technology







4. Hon. Keketso

Minister of Labour and Employment

5. Hon. Joang Molapo

Minister of Tourism, Environment and Culture

6. Hon. Samonyane Ntsekele
Minister of Water Affairs

7. Hon. Mokhele Moletsane

Minister of Home Affairs

8. Hon. Dr Moeketsi Majoro
Minister of Finance

6. Hon. Temeki Phoenix Tšolo

Minister of Mining

10. Hon.

Minister of Forestry, Range and Soil Conversation


11. Hon. Chalane Phori

Minister of Small Business, Cooperatives and Marketing

16. Hon. Mahala Molapo

Minister of Local Government and Chieftainship Affairs


13. Hon. Dr Mahali Phamotse

Minister of Gender and Youth, Sports and Recreation


14. Hon. Lesego Makgothi

Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Relations

16. Hon. Habofanoe Lehana

Minister of Law and Constitutional Affairs


17. Hon.

Minister of Transport


17. Hon. Tlohelang Aumane

Minister of Development Planning


18. Hon, Tsukutlane Au

Minister of Public Service


19. Hon. Mokoto Hloaele

Minister of Education and Training


20. Hon. Prof. Ntoi Rapapa

Minister of Energy and Meteorology


22. Hon. Maliehe Prince Maliehe

Minister of Public Works



22. Hon. Nkaku Kabi

Minister of Health



23. Hon. Leshoboro Mohlajoa
Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office
23. Hon. Litšoane Litšoane
Minister of Agriculture and Food Security
25. Hon. Semano Sekatle

Minister of Justice,Human Rights and Correctional Services in the Prime


26. Hon. Halebonoe James Setšabi

Minister of Trade and Industry


26. Hon. Motlohi Maliehe
Minister of Social Development
28. Hon. Lehlohonolo Moramotse

Minister of Police and Public Safety



1. Hon. Dr Nthabiseng Makoae
Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Food Security
2. Hon. ‘Manthabiseng Phohleli
Deputy Minister of Health
3. Hon. Tšehlo Ramarou

Deputy Minister In Prime Minister’s Office

4. Hon. Machesetsa Mofomobe

Deputy Minister of Home Affairs

5. Hon. Kotiti Liholo

Deputy Minister of Education and Training

6. Hon. ‘Maphoka Motoboli
Deputy Minister of Education and Training
7. Hon. Mothepu Mahapa

Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Relations


8. Hon. Mokherane Tsatsanyane

Deputy Minister of Local Government and Chieftainship Affairs

9. Hon Kose Makoa

Deputy Minister of Gender, Youth, Sports and Recreation


10. Hon. Moshe Leoma

Deputy Minister of Public Works



The Cabinet of Ministers consists of the Prime Minister and other Ministers. According to Section 87 of the Constitution of Lesotho, the Cabinet is led by the Prime Minister who is appointed by the King in accordance with the advice of the Council of State. The Prime Minister is a Member of Parliament who commands the confidence of the majority of the Members of the National Assembly. 

On the advice of the Prime Minister, the King appoints other Ministers from among Members of Parliament from the National Assembly or Senate to form the Cabinet. 

The Cabinet is responsible for all government policies and the day-to-day running of the affairs of the state. The Cabinet is responsible collectively to Parliament, and comprises the Prime Minister and Ministers who are in charge of various ministries. The Constitution says there should be at least seven Ministers, one of whom shall hold the office of Deputy Prime Minister, as may be established by Parliament or, subject to any provision made by Parliament, by the King, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister.

Currently, there are 25 ministries as follows:

  • Agriculture & Food Security
  • Communications, Science & Technology
  • Defence and National Security
  • Development Planning
  • Education and Training
  • Energy
  • Finance
  • Foreign Affairs and International Relations
  • Forestry and Land Reclamation
  • Gender and Youth, Sports and Recreation
  • Health
  • Home Affairs
  • Justice, Human Rights and Correctional Services
  • Labour and Employment
  • Law and Constitutional Affairs
  • Local Government and Chieftainship Affairs
  • Mining
  • Police and Public Safety
  • Public Service
  • Public Works and Transport
  • Small Business Development, Co-operatives and Marketing
  • Social Development
  • Tourism, Environment and Culture
  • Trade and Industry
  • Water Affairs


Visit Lesotho COVID-19 Official Facebook Page