The Minister of Communication, Science and Technology, Chief Thesele Maseribane has commended Members of Parliament (MPs) for engaging in peaceful transition.

This, he said following the collapse of the third coalition of the government of Lesotho, commonly known as (4×4) in the National Assembly on Monday.

Chief Maseribane said the Prime Minister, Dr Motsoahae Thomas Thabane will report the matter to the Council of State which is expected to map a way forward.

He added that following this, the new coalition government will be formed, which is expected to proceed with the mandate of the government thus to implement the budget and ensure that the National Reforms see the light.

He further pointed out that All Basotho Convention (ABC) in collaboration with Democratic Congress (DC) will agree on who will lead their coalition in order to serve the interests of Basotho.

ABC and DC are expected to lead this coalition, which is expected to be joined by Movement for Economic Change (MEC), Popular Front for Democracy (PFD), National Independent Party (NIP), Basotho Congress Party (BCP), Democratic Party of Lesotho (DPL) and Marematlou Freedom Party (MFP).

The house was adjourned until May 22, while the Speaker of the house will be reporting to the His Majesty, who in turn will inform the Council of State to map a way forward.

When Parliament opens, the coalition parties are expected to present their coalition agreement which will serve as a guide.

The 4×4 coalition government was formed in 2017 and was led by the ABC, Democratic Alliance (AD), Basotho National Party (BNP) and Reformed Congress of Lesotho (RCL).

Source: LENA 11/05/2020

Visit Lesotho COVID-19 Official Facebook Page