Just a day before Lesotho celebrates her 53rd Independence, it witnessed the fourth reshuffle of Cabinet Ministers since the 4×4 coalition took into power in 2017.

Three new Cabinet Ministers plus two Deputy Ministers have been sworn in by Acting Chief Justice ‘Maseforo Mahase in the presence of His Majesty King Letsie III, Prime Minister, Dr Motsoahae Thomas Thabane and his Deputy Prime Minister, Dr Monyane Moleleki at the Royal Palace on Thursday.

First to be sworn in was new Minister of Trade and Industry, Mr. Halebonoe Sets’abi who was the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Relations and is replacing the former Minister Habofanoe Lehana who is now the new Minister of Law and Constitutional Affairs.

Mr. Motlohi Maliehe who was released from the position of Minister of Tourism, Environment and Culture in August last year has been appointed as new Minister of Social Development replacing the former Minister ‘Matebatso Doti who was released from the position in February this year.

New Minister of Police and Public Safety is Mr. Lehlohonolo Moramotse who was also booted out in February last year while he was the then Minister of Public Works and Transport.

The two Deputy Ministers are Mr. Kose Makoa who has taken the position of Deputy Minister of Gender and Youth, Sports and Recreation while Mr. Moshe Leoma is the new Deputy Minister of Public Works and Transport replacing Mr. Mokherane Tsatsanyane who is now going to be Deputy Minister of Local Government and Chieftainship.

Meanwhile the Government Secretary Mr. Moahloli Mphaka stated that other reshuffles will be announced in due course.


Source: LENA 03/10/2019

Visit Lesotho COVID-19 Official Facebook Page