SADC commends Lesotho for her peace building commitment

The Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Relations Mr. Makgothi says the SADC Heads of State and government has welcomed the enactment of legislation to establish the National Reforms Authority (NRA) in Lesotho.

Mr Makgothi was speaking upon his arrival from Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania where he was part of the delegation that accompanied the Prime Minister to this Summit.

He added that the Summit called upon all stakeholders in Lesotho to remain committed to the reform process and commended the SADC Facilitator for the effective facilitation.
The Summit which took place on August 17 to 18, was preceded by the SADC Senior Officials’ meeting on August 09 to 11, the Ministerial meeting on August 13 to 14 and SADC Organ Troika Senior officials, Ministerial and Summit on August 16.

Mr Makgothi pointed out that the next step for the NRA is to be discussed at the Senate, indicating that the country was also commended for involving all stakeholders as well as its political will.

According to the SADC Communiqué released at the end of the Summit, the President of Tanzania Dr. John Pombe Magufuli was elected as Chairperson of SADC and President of Mozambique Mr. Filipe Jacinto Nyusi as the incoming Chairperson of SADC.

It adds that the Summit elected the President of Zimbabwe as Chairperson of the Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation, while the President of Botswana was elected as an incoming Chairperson of the Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation.

The theme for Summit was “A conducive environment for inclusive and sustainable industrial development, increased intra-regional trade, and job creation”.

SADC is a Regional Economic Community comprising 16 Member States; Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


Visit Lesotho COVID-19 Official Facebook Page