Cabinet Appointments

1.  The Rt. Hon. Dr Moeketsi Majoro
The Prime Minister

2. Hon. Mathibeli Mokhothu

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs


3. Hon. Motlohi Maliehe

Minister of Forestry, Range and Soil Conservation





4. Hon. Motlalentoa Letsosa

Minister of Home Affairs







5. Hon. Prince Maliehe

Minister of Defence and National Security




 6. Hon. Serialong Qoo
Minister of Mining

7. Hon. Tefo Mapesela

Minister of Agriculture, Food and Security

8. Hon. Tṥoeu Mokeretla
Minister of Transport

9. Hon. Thabo Sofonea

Minister of Finance

10. Hon. Ntlhoi Motsamai

Minister of Education and Training

11. Hon. Semano Sekatle

Minister of Public Service

12. Hon. Likeleli Tampane

Minister of Gender, Youth, Sports and Recreation


13. Hon. Tsoinyane Rapapa

Minister of Local Government and Chieftainship

14. Hon. Selibe Mochoboroane

Minister of Development Planning

15. Hon. ‘Matṥepo Ramakoae

Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Relations

16. Hon. Lekhetho RakuoaneMinister of Tourism, Environment and Culture 17. Hon. Motlatsi Maqelepo

Minister of Health


18. Hon. Lebohang Monaheng

Minister of Public Works



19. Hon. Keketso Sello

Minister of Small Business Development, Cooperatives and Marketing




20. Hon. Nkaku Kabi

Minister of Water



22. Hon. Thesele Maseribane

Minister of Communications, Science and Technology



22. Hon. Keketso Rantṥo

Minister of Labour and Employment


23. Hon. Kemiso Mosenene

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office









1. Hon. Machesetsa Mofomobe
Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Relations
2. Hon. Moshe Leoma

Deputy Minister of Local Government and Chieftainship

3. Hon. ‘Mamookho Phiri

Deputy Minister of Education and Training

4. Hon. Likopo Mahase

Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Food Security

5. Hon. Maimane Maphathe

Deputy Minister of Home Affairs

6. Hon. Nto Moakhi

Deputy Minister of Health

7. Hon. Phutuhelo Mafereka

Deputy Minister of Gender. Youth, Sports and Recreation


8. Hon. Lepota Sekola

Deputy Minister of Water





The Cabinet of Ministers consists of the Prime Minister and other Ministers. According to Section 87 of the Constitution of Lesotho, the Cabinet is led by the Prime Minister who is appointed by the King in accordance with the advice of the Council of State. The Prime Minister is a Member of Parliament who commands the confidence of the majority of the Members of the National Assembly. 

On the advice of the Prime Minister, the King appoints other Ministers from among Members of Parliament from the National Assembly or Senate to form the Cabinet. 

The Cabinet is responsible for all government policies and the day-to-day running of the affairs of the state. The Cabinet is responsible collectively to Parliament, and comprises the Prime Minister and Ministers who are in charge of various ministries. The Constitution says there should be at least seven Ministers, one of whom shall hold the office of Deputy Prime Minister, as may be established by Parliament or, subject to any provision made by Parliament, by the King, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister.

Currently, there are 25 ministries as follows:

  • Agriculture & Food Security
  • Communications, Science & Technology
  • Defence and National Security
  • Development Planning
  • Education and Training
  • Energy
  • Finance
  • Foreign Affairs and International Relations
  • Forestry and Land Reclamation
  • Gender and Youth, Sports and Recreation
  • Health
  • Home Affairs
  • Justice, Human Rights and Correctional Services
  • Labour and Employment
  • Law and Constitutional Affairs
  • Local Government and Chieftainship Affairs
  • Mining
  • Police and Public Safety
  • Public Service
  • Public Works and Transport
  • Small Business Development, Co-operatives and Marketing
  • Social Development
  • Tourism, Environment and Culture
  • Trade and Industry
  • Water Affairs


Visit Lesotho COVID-19 Official Facebook PageVisit Lesotho COVID-19 Official Twitter Account